A total of 3,780 students were offered admission for 2018/2019
academic session to study in various faculties of the Rivers State

The 3,780 students offered admission were those who met Department and
Faculty requirements, as well as the Joint Admission and Matriculation
Board’s (JAMB) criteria.

The Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor Blessing C. Didia
disclosed this while delivering his address at the 37th matriculation
ceremony of the institution held at the Convocation Arena, last

Prof. Didia opined that matriculation ceremony was a usual university
tradition to formally induct newly admitted students into the norms,
regulations and practices of the University, adding that with the
matriculation programme, they have been formally admitted as student
members of the University.

The Vice Chancellor urged the matriculating students to consider
themselves lucky for securing admission into the University, adding
that they were admitted because they met the high moral and academic
standards set by the University.

As student members, you will have the privilege to access our
world-class facilities in digital and physical infrastructure. They
will also access departmental, faculty and central libraries for
valuable information that will aid their studies. Our workshops,
laboratories, classrooms and hostels will also be available to them”,
he said.

Given the breakdown of the admission, the Vice Chancellor disclosed
that 221 students were admitted into the Department of Agriculture,
91, Basic Medical Sciences, 83 Engineering, 174 Environmental
Sciences, 145 Humanities and Law 405.

Others include 589 for Management Sciences, 760 Science, 204 Social
Sciences, while 508 students were admitted to study Technical and
Science Education.

Prof Didia disclosed that the highlight of this year’s matriculation
ceremony was the addition of two new faculties, Faculty of Humanities
and Faculty of Social Sciences, adding that the university was
progressively moving towards establishing a conventional University as
stated by the new University law N4, of 2017.