The Bayelsa State Government has inaugurated committee that will
identify communities in each local government area, where there are
pending chieftaincy disputes in court or before any other arbitration
This was part of a 7-point terms of reference to the committees, which
include engaging in proper consultations and undertaking visits for
the purpose of identifying, ascertaining and compiling a credible and
acceptable list of communities and their heads in each local
government area of the State.
Governor Seriake Dickson was represented by his deputy, Rear Admiral
Gboribiogha John Jonah (Rtd), at the inauguration of the committee
comprising Verification Teams for communities and their heads across
the 8 local government areas in the state.
The state government also mandated the committee to study the
compendium of documents relating to the various communities and their
heads, earlier submitted to the government by the Chief Douye Douglas
Naingba led Committee on Chieftaincy Stools.
According to the Governor Dickson, the committee is expected to make
recommendations on appropriate communities that should be given
official recognition, as well as to make any other recommendations
given the sensitive nature of their assignment.
The Committee, which has 2 weeks to submit its report is to be
coordinated by the Chief of Staff, Government House, Rt. Hon. Talford
Responding, Chairman of the Committee and leader of the Ekeremor Local
Government Verification Team, Barr. Belemu Nemine expressed his
committee’s determination to carry out the task assigned them
Chairmen of the various verification teams are, Chief Kune Igoni for
Brass, Hon. Kofi Odiowei- Kolokuma/Opokuma, Hon. Eminah Bioghoemi-
Nembe and Chief Maclean Aduba- Ogbia local government area.
Others are, Chief Bernard Agai- Sagbama local government area, Chief
Patrick Osunu- Southern Ijaw and Hon. Michael Ogbolosingha for Yenagoa
local government area.