The only Nigerian Senator elected on the platform of the Labour Party,
Ovie Omo-Agege, has decamped to the ruling All Progressives Congress.
Mr. Omo-Agege, representing Delta Central, announced his defection on
Tuesday, citing leadership crisis in LP.
Mr. Omo-Agege, a native Urhobo, had openly romanced with the APC
caucus before his formal defection today, Tuesday.
In one instance, he joined the APC caucus last year to counter the PDP
caucus’ accusation that the anti-graft campaign of the Buhari
administration was lopsided.
With his defection, APC now has 66 members in the Senate, after
gaining for decampees from the PDP previously.
Joshua Dariye, Plateau; Yele Omogunwa, Ondo; Nelson Effiong, Akwa
Ibom; and Andy Uba, Anambra are the four Senators who cross-carpeted
from the PDP to the APC.